Home / Solutions / Smart Grid: Powerline Communications

Smart Grid: Powerline Communications

Powerline Communications as Enabler for Smart Grid

Reference Project Renesas

Powerline modem development platform for Renesas Electronics Europe.

Since the onset of 2008 ubisysh has closely been working together with Renesas Electronics Europe in the field which now commonly has been named as “Smart Grid” und “Smart Metering” by the industry — proof of ubisys very early and deep engagement in this sector with great prospects for the future.

ubisys is a competent partner in realizing highly complex digital signal processing systems. We designed and produced a development platform for new transmission technologies via the low voltage distibution system for Renesas, one of the world leaders in producing semiconductors.Innovative is the “software-radio” approach, uilising the whole CENELEC A band (9 — 95 kHz) digitaly. On the digital side the R32C by Renesas as DSP, and partnering up a Xilinx Spartan-3E FPGA for future extensions. On the analogue side functional blocks such as active filters, amplifiers and the coupling to the electrical grid.

The entire system, meaning algorithms, circuit diagrams, layouts, firmware and the whole operating software for the PC was completely developed — from concept up to the functioning prototype — in-house. As proof of the platforms performance capabilities a OFDM based on the IEEE 802.11 standard was realized and demonstrated.

In follow up projects ubisys developed and simulated a reference implementation of the PRIME OFDM PHYs in C. Furthermore ubisys employees assisted in realizing a S-FSK modem on one of the first engineering samples of the Renesas RX Microcontroller. In addition to that ubisys did a critical revision of RUN-M network stack for M16C/6S, contributed to its maintenance and further development, revised application notes and assisted the porting of RUN-M on the new M16C/6S1 now sporting a higher data rate with preparation and guidance.

Renesas PLC Board Development Platform for CENELEC A Band - Made by ubisys
CENELEC A powerline modem development platform
Maintenance and Control Software for CENELEC A PLC platform - Made by ubisys
Operating software for your PC

Home / Lösungen / Smart Grid: Powerline Communications

Smart Grid: Powerline Communications

Powerline Communications als Enabler für Smart Grid

Referenzprojekt Renesas

Powerline-Modem Entwicklungsplattform für Renesas Electronics Europe.

Bereits seit dem Jahr 2008 arbeitet ubisys eng mit Renesas Electronics Europe auf dem Gebiet zusammen, für das die Branche mittlerweile die prägnanten Begriffe „Smart Grid” und „Smart Metering” geprägt hat — ein Beleg für das frühzeitige und nachhaltige Engagement von ubisys auf diesem Sektor mit Perspektive.

Als kompetenter Partner für das Design und die Umsetzung komplexer digitaler Signalverarbeitungssysteme hat ubisys eine Entwicklungsplattform für neue Übertragungsverfahren über das Niederspannungsverteilnetz an Renesas, einen der größten Halbleiterhersteller weltweit, geliefert. Innovativ ist der „software-radio” Ansatz, bei dem das gesamte CENELEC A Band (9 — 95 kHz) digital verarbeitet wird. Auf der digitalen Seite fungiert der R32C von Renesas als DSP, dem ein Xilinx Spartan-3E FPGA für künftige Erweiterungen zur Seite steht. Die analoge Seite umfaßt Funktionsblöcke wie aktive Filter, Verstärker und die Netzankopplung.

Das gesamte System, d.h. Algorithmen, Schaltpläne, Layouts, Firmware und Bediensoftware für den PC, wurde vollständig — vom Konzept bis hin zu den funktionsfähigen Prototypen — in-house entwickelt. Als Beleg für die Leistungsfähigkeit der Plattform wurde eine OFDM in Anlehnung an den Standard IEEE 802.11 realisiert und demonstriert.

In Folgeprojekten hat ubisys eine Referenzimplementierung des PRIME OFDM PHYs in C entworfen und Simulationen durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus haben Mitarbeiter von ubisys an der Realisierung eines S-FSK Modems auf einem der ersten Engineering Sample des Renesas RX Microcontrollers mitgewirkt. Zudem hat ubisys eine kritische Revision des RUN-M Netzwerkstacks für M16C/6S vorgenommen, Beiträge zu dessen Wartung und Weiterentwicklung geleistet, Application Notes überarbeitet, und die Portierung von RUN-M auf den neuen M16C/6S1 mit höherer Datenrate vorbereitend begleitet.

Renesas PLC Board Development Platform für CENELEC A Band - Made by ubisys
CENELEC A Powerline Modem Entwicklungsplattform
Maintenance and Control Software für CENELEC A PLC Platform - Made by ubisys
Bediensoftware für den PC