Home / Solutions / Remote Maintenance

Remote Maintenance

Fernwartungssystem for Micro controller with ethernet-interface

Reference Project GSI

Remote maintenance and diagnostics solution for ring accelerator high frequency technology at the (GSI) Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung, Darmstadt.

As in most complex industrial plants the ring accelerator of the (GSI) Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung also is widespread and extensive and full of sophisticated electronics. More and more of the electronic modules in use are based on configurable logic modules (FPGAs and CPLDs) and microcontrollers with rewritable program memory.

In the past when errors where found in the digital or software designs or new features had to be implemented a service technician had to walk down the entire plant (a couple of km²), to install the new configuration data bit by bit little by little.

With the Maintenance & Diagnostics Module by ubisys now it is possible to use the already existing ethernet to efficiently and centrally maintain and manage such widespread systems. With the push of a button all modules and components can be updated with the latest firmware almost simultaneously.

In the course of all the various development projects ubisys has been involved with we have exclusively devised a whole family of components. All system components are manufactured, tested and delivered to the very highest quality standards for which ubisys are renowned. The results of this cooperation were published in a scientific journal [1].

ubisys Maintenance and Diagnostics Modules for the GSI FAIR project ubisys Maintenance & Diagnostics Modules

[1] K.-P. Ningel, A. Honarbacht, H. Klingbeil, M. Proske, H. Veldman, and B. Zipfel, “The GSI RF Maintenance & Diagnostics Project” in Proceedings of the 2nd International Particle Accelerator Conference (IPAC), San Sebastián, Spain, September 2011, pp. 1695–1697

Home / Lösungen / Fernwartung

Fernwartung

Fernwartungssystem für Microcontroller mit Ethernet-Schnittstelle

Referenzprojekt GSI

Fernwartungs- und Diagnoselösung für Ring-Hochfrequenztechnik der Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung, Darmstadt.

Wie viele komplexe Industrieanlagen so ist auch der Ringbeschleuniger der Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung großflächig und weitläufig aufgebaut und mit aufwendiger Elektronik ausgerüstet. Die dort eingesetzten elektronischen Baugruppen basieren zunehmend auf konfigurierbaren Logikbausteinen (FPGAs und CPLDs) und Mikrokontrollern mit wiederbeschreibbarem Programmspeicher.

Werden Fehler in den entsprechenden Digital- oder Software-Designs entdeckt, oder sollen neue Funktionen realisiert werden, mußten bislang Servicetechniker die gesamte Anlage (einige km²) abgehen und nach und nach neue Konfigurationsdateien aufspielen.

Mit dem Maintenance & Diagnostics Module von ubisys ist es möglich, das ohnehin bestehende Datennetz der Anlage (Ethernet) zu nutzen, um auch derart verteilte Systeme zentral und effizient zu warten und zu überwachen. Auf Knopfdruck werden alle Baugruppen nahezu gleichzeitig mit neuer Firmware bespielt.

Im Laufe zahlreicher Entwicklungsprojekte hat ubisys exklusiv eine ganze Familie von Komponenten entwickelt. Alle Systemkomponenten werden von ubisys gefertigt, geprüft und in der hochwertigen Qualität zugeliefert, für die ubisys bekannt ist. Die Ergebnisse dieser Zusammenarbeit wurden in einem wissenschaftlichen Beitrag veröffentlicht [1].

ubisys Maintenance and Diagnostics Modules für GSI FAIR Projekt ubisys Maintenance & Diagnostics Modules

[1] K.-P. Ningel, A. Honarbacht, H. Klingbeil, M. Proske, H. Veldman, and B. Zipfel, “The GSI RF Maintenance & Diagnostics Project” in Proceedings of the 2nd International Particle Accelerator Conference (IPAC), San Sebastián, Spain, September 2011, pp. 1695–1697