Home / Products / Software-libraries / CompactECC: Elliptic Curve Cryptography

Elliptic Curve Cryptography (ECC)

cryptography solutions: Elliptic Curve Cryptography (ECDSA, ECDH)

CompactECC: Elliptic Curve Cryptography for Embedded Systems

COMPACTECC
Being an asymmetric realization ECC ideally complements AES. This happens to be one of the most secure and high performing public-key methods available today. Users can benefit from the advantages without having to bother with the complex mathematics behind elliptical curves over finite fields. Part of CompactECC is an implementation of ECDSA to generate and verify digital signatures and ECDH for key deduction. CompactECC already offers the most important SEC2 standardized curves „out-of-the-box” with encryption levels of 160, 192, 224, 256, 384 and 521 Bit. However a ECC key with 224 Bit corresponds to a 2048 Bit RSA encryption. Due to this fact ECC is predestined for mobile devices and other embedded systems with low computing performance and limited memory storage capabilities. On an ARM7TDMI the whole package consisting of basis arithmetic ECC and ECDSA requires aprox. 8 KB ROM and — at 256 Bit key length — also aprox. 8 KB RAM. With shorter keys RAM requirement is reduced whereas ROM is only slightly reduced.

Note: Also suitable for iOS, Android and other mobile platforms.

PDF Markus Sewing, Atmel Corporation: „Porting CompactECC to Atmel’s New SAM3S MCU” — IQ Magazine, Volume 9, No. 4 (PDF, 7 pages, 661KB)

PDF COMPACTECC user manual and reference (PDF, 24 pages, 132KB)

CompactECC+: Highly Optimized Elliptic Curve Cryptography for Embedded Systems

COMPACTECC+
For applications requiring especially high performance we have added an optimized ECDSA signature function to the p192r1 curve in our CompactECC library. Signatures along this curve are mandatory for smart meters used in private households (EDL21/EDL40) and industrially (SyM²).

The CompactECC+ library generally works with many processors, e.g.32-bit ARM and 8-bit AVR. Optimized assembler code for ARM cores with thumb und thumb 2 command set, e.g. ARM7TDMI and ARM Cortex-M3. Specifically optimized for Atmel's AT91SAM7S, AT91SAM7X and ATSAM3 controllers.

Note: Also suitable for iOS, Android and other mobile platforms.

PDF Markus Sewing, Atmel Corporation: „Porting CompactECC to Atmel’s New SAM3S MCU” — IQ Magazine, Volume 9, No. 4 (PDF, 7 pages, 661KB)

PDF COMPACTECC+ user manual and reference (PDF, 40 pages, 150KB)

Related products

CompactSHA: SHA-256 for Embedded Systems

CompactSHA™: Secure Hash Algorithm

If higher security than MD5 offers is required, SHA-256 is the answer. This secure algorithm meets the highest standards. As all our products from the Compact range, CompactSHA™ was developed for under-resourced MCUs....
CompactAES: Advanced Encryption Standard for Embedded Systems

CompactAES™: Advanced Encryption Standard

CompactAES is an efficient C++ realisation of the symmetrical AES/Rijndael Block Cyphers utilising either 128, 192 or 256 Bit encryption levels, making it ideal for Embedded Systems. CompactAES only requires aproximately 1,5KB ROM on an ARM7TDMI running in Thumb Mode...

Home / Produkte / Software-Bibliotheken / CompactECC: Elliptic Curve Cryptography

Elliptic Curve Cryptography (ECC)

Kryptographielösungen: Elliptic Curve Cryptography (ECDSA, ECDH)

CompactECC: Elliptic Curve Cryptography for Embedded Systems

COMPACTECC
Als asymmetrisches Verfahren ist ECC eine optimale Ergänzung zu AES. Es handelt sich hierbei um eines der sichersten und leistungsfähigsten Public-Key Verfahren, die derzeit verfügbar sind. Anwender können sich die Vorzüge zu Nutze machen, ohne sich mit der komplexen Mathematik elliptischer Kurven auf endlichen Körpern befassen zu müssen. Bestandteil von CompactECC sind auch eine Implementierungen von ECDSA zur Erstellung und Prüfung Digitaler Signaturen und ECDH zur Schlüsseldeduktion. CompactECC bietet bereits die wichtigsten in SEC2 standardisierten Kurven „out-of-the-box” mit Verschlüsselungsstärken von 160, 192, 224, 256, 384 und 521 Bit. Dabei bietet ein ECC Schlüssel mit 224 Bit eine kryptographische Sicherheit, die der von 2048 Bit RSA entspricht. Aufgrund dieser Eigenschaften ist ECC für mobile Geräte und andere Embedded Systems mit geringer Rechenleistung und knappen Speicherressourcen besonders geeignet. Auf einem ARM7TDMI benötigt das Gesamtpaket aus Basisarithmetik, ECC und ECDSA circa 8 KB ROM und — bei 256 Bit Schlüssellänge — ebenfalls etwa 8 KB RAM. Bei kürzeren Schlüsseln verringert sich der RAM-Bedarf, während der ROM-Bedarf nur geringfügig abnimmt.

Hinweis: Auch für iOS, Android und andere mobile Plattformen geeignet.

PDF Markus Sewing, Atmel Corporation: „Porting CompactECC to Atmel’s New SAM3S MCU” — IQ Magazine, Volume 9, No. 4 (PDF, 7 Seiten, 661KB)

PDF COMPACTECC Benutzerhandbuch und Referenz (PDF, 24 Seiten, 132KB)

CompactECC+: Highly Optimized Elliptic Curve Cryptography for Embedded Systems

COMPACTECC+
Für Anwendungen mit besonders hohen Performanceanforderungen haben wir unsere CompactECC Bibliothek noch um eine optimierte ECDSA Signaturfunktion für die Kurve p192r1 erweitert. Signaturen auf dieser Kurve sind beispielsweise in Detuschland für intelligente Stromzähler von privaten Haushalten (EDL21/EDL40) und Industrie (SyM²) vorgeschrieben.

Die CompactECC+ Bibliothek ist generell für viele Prozessoren geeignet, z.B. 32-bit ARM und 8-bit AVR. Optimierter Assemblercode für ARM Cores mit Thumb und Thumb 2 Befehlssatz, z.B. ARM7TDMI und ARM Cortex-M3. Speziell optimiert für Atmel's AT91SAM7S, AT91SAM7X und ATSAM3 Controller.

Hinweis: Auch für iOS, Android und andere mobile Plattformen geeignet.

PDF Markus Sewing, Atmel Corporation: „Porting CompactECC to Atmel’s New SAM3S MCU” — IQ Magazine, Volume 9, No. 4 (PDF, 7 Seiten, 661KB)

PDF COMPACTECC+ Benutzerhandbuch und Referenz (PDF, 40 Seiten, 150KB)

Zugehörige Produkte

CompactSHA: SHA-256 for Embedded Systems

CompactSHA™: Secure Hash Algorithm

Für den Fall, dass mehr Sicherheit benötigt wird, als MD5 bietet, kann auf SHA-256 zurückgegriffen werden. Dieser sichere Algorithmus genügt selbst den höchsten Ansprüchen. Wie alle Produkte unserer Compact Reihe ist CompactSHA für den Einsatz auf ressourcenschwachen MCUs entwickelt...
CompactAES: Advanced Encryption Standard for Embedded Systems

CompactAES™: Advanced Encryption Standard

CompactAES ist eine effiziente C++ Realisierung des symmetrischen AES/Rijndael Block Cyphers mit 128, 192 und 256 Bit Verschlüsselungsstärke und besonders für Embedded Systems geeignet. CompactAES benötigt auf einem ARM7TDMI im Thumb Mode lediglich rund 1,5KB ROM und...